Articles in this section

User Management

The User Management tool allows you to manage the roles of existing users, view pending users and invite new users.

Note: Access to this tool and certain features depends on your account roles and privileges.

Screenshot of the User Management tool
User Management tool

Active Users

Selecting to view active users from the Account Status filter lists all users that have access to your organization's portal, including their username, email address and assigned roles. Use the search field to locate specific users by name, username or email address.

Screenshot of the Active users
Active users

Active members consist of two categories:

  • Authenticated

    These members have created usernames and passwords and are generally active users of Gallup Access. These members may include:

    • managers who view their reports
    • administrators who create and manage surveys or manage members of Gallup Access
  • Non-Authenticated members

    These members do not have a username or password and may or may not become authenticated users of Gallup Access. These members may include:

    • members who will not log into Gallup Access such as those you allow to take a survey via the Survey Builder tool; these members will take a survey but will not use Gallup Access
    • managers you have granted access via the Survey Builder tool who have not yet created a username and password to view their reports

Click a user’s row to view additional information, including their roles, privileges, and projects. To view the surveys the user has participated in, select their Projects tab. To modify a user’s assigned roles, select their Roles & Privileges tab. This displays the following options:

  • Click Manage Roles to modify a user’s client-specific roles. Client-specific roles apply to all reports across all surveys.
  • Click + Project Specific Role to modify a user’s project-specific roles. Project-specific roles only apply to the report(s) for the survey(s) you select.

Note: Team roles automatically determine a user’s privileges depending on their role in a team.

Member vs. Nonmember Status

Every active user also has a membership status of either member or nonmember. This is separate from a user's authentication status (see above) — a nonmember user still has a Gallup Access account and can sign in normally.

Membership status is determined for a user by the type of code they redeem or the status they were invited to Gallup Access with — or can be configured by an Administrator.

Note: Membership status determines how a user experiences your organization's subscription inside Gallup Access. It does not indicate whether the user has created a username and password. Nonmember status may or may not be available to you, depending on your organization's subscription within Gallup Access.

  • Member — The client name is visible to the user in Gallup Access. Members can be assigned to and may view Teams (if configured on a per-person basis) and can make purchases on behalf of the organization.
  • Nonmember — The client name is not visible to the user in Gallup Access. Nonmembers can be added to Teams by an Administrator, but cannot access or manage Teams themselves.

An Administrator can update a user's status between member and nonmember from within User Management, on the user details tab.

Close a User’s Account

To close a user’s account, select Terminate Account from their More Options menu (⁝). This will prevent the user from using their account to sign in to Gallup Access.

To reactivate a user’s account, select Activate Account from their More Options menu (⁝).

Screenshot of the Terminate Account option
Terminate Account option

Update Multiple Users’ Accounts

To update the status of multiple users’ accounts at once, select Update Status from the Actions drop-down list on the upper-right corner of the page. This will display the Update Status window and allow you to upload a CSV file with an account status of “active” or “terminate” for the user accounts you want to update.

Screenshot of the Update Status option
Update Status option

Pending Users

Selecting to view pending users from the Account Status filter lists all users you have invited to your portal who have not accepted your invitation and created an account (or signed in with an existing account). Use the search field to locate specific users by email address.

Screenshot of the Pending users
Pending users

To modify a user’s assigned roles, click their row, select their Roles & Privileges tab, and then click Manage Roles. You can also click Resend Invite to send another invitation to the user. Or click Cancel Invite to cancel your pending invitation.

Note: Canceling an invite will not remove the email invitation from the user’s inbox. The user will still be able to use the invitation to create an account on your portal, but they will not have any roles to do anything.

Was this article helpful?